Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Period. That’s really all you need to know, but I’ll talk for a bit anyway.

I’ve been on a mission–a mission to find the very best go-to recipes for classic desserts and baked goods. I’m making great progress. I’ve found The World’s Greatest Chocolate Chip Banana Bread, I have a the perfect brownie recipe that I will share with you eventually, and today, I bring you chocolate chip cookies. Everyone loves a warm, gooey chocolate chip cookie. I really can’t think of one person who would not find at least some enjoyment in a golden, chewy cookie studded with chocolatey morsels. There are countless chocolate chip cookie recipes floating around out there, and I’ve tried a lot of them. No matter what, I always come back to this one. They come out perfect every time. Crispy on the outside, chewy on the inside, just the right amount of sweetness, and consistently amazing. There’s no voodoo or wizardry involved, and no tedious overnight refrigeration either. It’s just a simple recipe that has the proportions down exactly right for a perfect cookie. Ditch the recipe from the back of the chocolate chip bag, and set your grandma’s recipe aside, because this is it

The Only Chocolate Chip Cookie You’ll Ever Want To Eat Again

1/2 cup unsalted butter, softened

1 cup brown sugar

3 tbsp. sugar

1 egg

2 tsp. vanilla extract

1/2 tsp. baking soda

1/2 tsp. baking powder

1/2 tsp. salt

1 3/4 cup flour

1 tsp. instant espresso or coffe powder (optional but encouraged)

8 oz. chocolate chips (but I usually add an extra handful)

 

Preheat oven to 375.

Cream together the butter and sugars until fluffy.

Beat in the egg and vanilla.

Sift in all of the dry ingredients and mix until just combined. You don’t have to add the espresso powder, but I think it really heightens the chocolate flavor and adds some depth to the cookie, without making it taste like a mocha.

Stir in the chocolate chips, adding more or less depending on how you like it. I tend towards the “more” side.

Form dough into one tablespoon balls and place on a greased cookie sheet. I prefer to cover the cookie sheet with parchment paper first, then grease it. The cookies are easier to remove and you’ll have less to clean.

Bake for about 10 minutes, but start keeping an eye on them after 8 minutes because ovens vary. Let cool for a few minutes, and then transfer to wire racks to cool the rest of the way, but make sure you eat one (or two, or….) when they’re still hot!

Now go clean out your recipe collection and get rid of every other sub-par cookie recipe that you have stashed away, and give this one a new home in your repertoire.

I’d like…to eat these cookies every day while listening to this song.

