Tags

, , , , ,

If you’ve read my about me section (the page labeled HI.), then you may know that I have a thing for chocolate and peanut butter. Okay, more like a deep obsession. I love it. I crave it. I’m never satisfied. I’m an addict. It’s my cross to bear. It’s a real disease with doctors and medicine and everything!

Too much? Sorry, I couldn’t help myself. Anyways, I made something that came so close to perfection, it scares me. Chocolatey, peanut buttery, sweet and slightly salty. Described by a friend as “an orgasm in my mouth.” And that was before he had even tasted them. Yeah, they were that good. Notice how your mouth is already watering, and I haven’t even told you exactly what it is I made? I won’t keep you in suspense anymore. I feel bad.

Drum roll please…..


Sorry my camera/picture taking skills are crap, and do not do this any justice.

I wish I could claim these as my own original creation, but I found them on The Brownie Project, which is genius. You should check it out.

Here’s the recipe. There’s a ganache topping which I, as well as the original poster, skipped. I’m sure it could only add another layer of wonderful, but dark chocolate and heavy cream are expensive, and I’m a broke college kid with a limited baking budget. I did, however, top some of them with pretzels, which added a nice salty crunch. Have I mentioned I’m big on sweet ‘n’ salty?

Peanut Butter Cookie Dough Brownies

Brownie Layer:
1/2 cup unsalted butter
2 (1-ounce) squares unsweetened chocolate
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 cup sugar
2 large eggs
1/2 cup plus 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup semisweet chocolate chunks (I used chocolate chips)

Peanut Butter Cookie Dough Layer:
1/4 cup unsalted butter, softened
1/2 cup packed light brown sugar
2 tablespoons milk
1/2 cup creamy peanut butter
1/2 cup plus 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon salt

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and grease your pan. I, for some reason, lack a normal 8×8 brownie pan, so I used some awkward size, 10×7 or something. It doesn’t really matter though.

For the brownies, first break up your unsweetened chocolate and butter into smaller chunks and microwave in a bowl until completely melted.

I microwaved for 30 seconds at a time, stirring each time, for a total of about two minutes. I’d be curious to add another square of unsweetened chocolate next time, just to see if it is possible to make it too chocolatey. I’m guessing it isn’t. Mmm…chocolate butter. That should be a thing. Mix in the vanilla extract. In a separate bowl, beat the eggs and sugar, and then add the chocolate butter mixture. Now stir in the dry stuff–flour, baking powder, salt. Last fold in the chocolate chips/chunks. Spread evenly into pan, and bake until a toothpick comes out more or less clean. I baked mine for 20 minutes, and probably could have gotten away with 18. A smaller pan would need more time though. Meanwhile, work on the peanut butter layer.

It tastes just like peanut butter cookie dough. So good.

I have a happy face spatula : )

Add the butter and brown sugar to a bowl and beat until creamy. Then add the peanut butter and milk, then the flour and salt. Try not to eat it all while you wait for the brownies to cool, at which point you’ll spread the peanut butter all over the top.

If you’re interested in the ganache layer, refer to the link above to The Brownie Project. If you’re not, then cut into squares. I topped some of them with a pretzel twist. It was pretty cute, won’t lie.

Precious.

Get a glass of milk and inhale savor your masterpiece.

I got so excited I almost forgot the song of the day. This is how I feel about these brownies.

Have a similar recipe that you love? Comment! I wanna hear all about it : )

