Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Mexican-Asian fusion steak sliders, that is. I recently decided that fusion is a fancy way of saying you can’t make up your mind on what flavors to use, so you add everything and hope it works out. This one worked out quite well.

Before I get into that, I apologize for letting you think I was going to post every day and then taking a 4 (5? I don’t know) day hiatus. I’m realistically probably going to be able to post only once or twice a week : ( I get mega super busy and have to eat a lot of my meals on the go. I do think I’m going to try to start a new section about just that though. Where and what to eat in/around Westwood.

Okay, now back to the good stuff. Really, really good stuff.

Today was another crazy busy day, and I almost opted for a take out or pb&j dinner, but then I was like “No. You can do better than that. Your readers need you! All five of them!” Sorry, kind of presumptuous of me I suppose, but I told myself that so that I would get my butt in gear and cook something. So I went to the grocery store with no game plan. I hate doing that. I end up wandering around aimlessly through the aisles for hours and getting home only to realize that I only bought gum and yogurt. But not today. I threw an assortment of on sale items in my cart, looked down at them, and realized that I had the makings of something spectacular. I got excited. My heart started racing. My pupils dilated. My palms were sweaty. Just kidding. That’s gross.

What I bought was a really thin, cheap cut of steak, a 4 pack of King’s Hawaiian rolls, a broccoli crown, Top Ramen, bacon, arugula, a couple tomatoes (I’ve been obsessed with tomatoes lately), and some pepper jack cheese. And here’s what happened to them.

Mexican-Asian Fusion Sliders

Ingredients for 4 sliders:

4 strips of bacon

1 tomato

garlic salt

pepper

olive oil

1/2 lb. super thin steak (I think I got some kind of sirloin)

soy sauce

Montreal Steak Seasoning

4 slices pepper jack cheese

4 King’s Hawaiian Rolls

butter

arugula

chipotle aioli

Ingredients for broccoli salad:

1 crown broccoli

1/2 of a red onion

1/2 of a package of Top Ramen

3 tbsp. mayo

2 tbsp. red wine vinegar

1 tbsp. soy sauce

1/2 tsp. cumin

1/3 or the flavor packet from your Top Ramen (I used chili flavor)

juice of 1/4 a lime

What To Do:

First marinate your steak. Rub it down with some olive oil, soy sauce, and Montreal. Let that hang out for a bit.

Now get your broccoli salad going. Break up the crown into little florets and put in a bowl. Slice your onion into thin slivers, and add that to the broccoli. Then take that half package of Ramen and crush it up, adding it to the broccoli and onion. Now it’s time to mix up the dressing. Stir together the mayo, vinegar, soy sauce, cumin, flavor packet stuff, and lime juice. Taste it. Like it? Toss it into the broccoli salad and stick it in the fridge.

We’re about to roast some tomatos. And bacon. Set your oven to 400 degrees. Put a wire cooling rack on a baking sheet. Slice the tomato, and arrange the slices on the wire rack. Brush on some olive oil, and a sprinkling of garlic salt and black pepper. Arrange the bacon slices on the rack as well. Put in the oven for maybe 10-15 minutes. I honestly have no idea how long I cooked them. I kind of forgot about them and almost burned the bacon. But everything turned out fine. Flip everything half way through, by the way.

Heat a frying pan on medium-high heat, and throw on the steak. It’ll cook extremely quickly if it’s as thin as mine was. I gave it no more than two minutes on each side, and ended up with a perfectly medium steak. When it’s done, set it on a cutting board and come back to it in a few minutes.

Wipe out your frying pan with a paper towel, but keep it nice and hot. Split open the King’s Hawaiian rolls and butter them up. Lay them butter side down in the frying pan and toast ’em. No one like untoasted buns. So sad.

Go back to that steak. Cut it into four pieces. Put a slice of pepper jack on each piece, and put the steak back in the pan for a second to melt the cheese.

Now, young grasshopper, you are ready to assemble.

Oh hey, chipotle aioli from the torta recipe, we meet again. Spread a little aioli on the buns. Lay down a piece of steak. Break a strip of bacon in half and put those two halves down on top of the steak. Add a couple roasted tomato slices. Top with a small handful or arugula. Put your lovely little slider (or two of them) on a plate with a big scoop of broccoli salad. Try to contain your excitement as you bite in and realize that you have solved the world’s problems through your food.

If music had flavors, this song would taste like these sliders.

