Tags

, , , , ,

Once in a while, when I’m tired and feeling lazy, I want baked goods but I don’t really want to bake. It’s a rare event, but it happens, and when the moment hits, you have to be prepared. Arm yourself with this four ingredient cookie bar. Any self-respecting kitchen should have all of the ingredients on hand at all times. Their simplicity is beautiful. You can taste each ingredient, and they all taste like love. Because of the nature of this minimalist recipe, it’s super easy to increase/reduce the size to fit your needs. I actually quartered it and made a mini batch, but I’m giving you the standard recipe here. You can also add whatever ingredients you have on hand, like nuts or a different flavor of chips. Butterscotch chips would be heavenly. Just in case this is a little too complicated for anyone, I included very thorough step-by-step pictures.

Stripped Down Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookie Bars

4 cups quick oats
2 cups brown sugar
1 cup butter
1 cup chocolate chips

Put the butter in a microwave safe bowl.

Melt it.

Add the brown sugar.

Stir in the brown sugar.

Then the oats.

Then the chocolate.

Hope you stayed with me. I know things got kinda complicated. Press the mixture down into a greased 11″x16″ cookie sheet with a 1/2″ lip. Press until well packed and even. Since I quartered it, I used this cute little pyrex glass pan which worked perfectly. Bake at 375°F for about 10-12 minutes until edges start to brown and mixture is bubbly. Let cool and cut into squares. It’s pretty important that you let it cool, or else when you try to eat them, they’ll fall apart. I’m impatient, so I learned this the hard way.

Once they are cool though, they won’t even last long enough to put in your cookie jar. OM NOM NOM.

