Tags

, , , , , , ,

I’m a pretty simple girl when it comes to breakfast. I don’t demand too much from my morning meal and and usually don’t have that much time for anything elaborate, so I typically stick with a healthy bowl of Raisin Bran and soy milk. However, today I was feeling deviant. Dangerous, even. I didn’t have a ton of time for breakfast grandeur, but I was determined to make it happen. I wanted something hot and hearty and delicious. I had a rumbling that only potatoes could satisfy. Potatoes, and bacon, and eggs, and cheese, and onions, and tomato, and a tortilla (I’ve been on a tortilla kick lately). I spun through my kitchen like a hungry tornado, racing against the clock to concoct my breakfast creation. In a flash, I had a thick cut piece of bacon sizzling away on a skillet. In another flash, I had burnt it. I always burn the bacon, without fail. I can cook anything else, but I always screw up the bacon. I trashed my failure, and cooked up another strip, carefully monitoring it this time. I chopped up a potato, onion, and garlic at lightning speed. I sauteed those, added an egg and some tomato, and tucked it all neatly into a tortilla, along with the bacon. I toasted my taco so it got a bit crispy and golden and voila. Breakfast was conquered and my stomach was satisfied.

Read on for the recipe for my…

Breakfast Taco

1 strip thick cut bacon (or maybe two if they’re thin)

1 small red potato, diced

2 tbsp. diced brown onion

1 garlic clove, minced

Old Bay seasoning

Italian herb seasoning

1 egg

Salt & Pepper

1 tbsp. milk or water

2 tbsp. grated cheese

1/2 of a Roma tomato, diced

1 flour tortilla

1 rumbly tummy

In a skillet, cook your bacon. Remove it and drain the grease, but leave a light coating of it on the bottom of the pan. Add the potato, onion, and garlic and cook until the potatoes are golden and everything is soft, about 10 minutes. Sprinkle with Old Bay and Italian herbs. Scramble the egg and add a bit of salt and pepper and a splash of milk. Pour into the pan and add the cheese and tomatoes as well, stirring until the egg is cooked. Lay the bacon onto the tortilla. Spoon the veggie and egg mixture on top, keeping everything on one half of the tortilla. Fold the tortilla over, so it looks like a taco, and put it in the pan, cooking for a minute or two on each side, until golden. Slide it onto a plate and revel in your deviant genius.

This is a good song.

