Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

What I am about to say might be shocking, appalling, or offensive to some audiences, but stay with me please. I made cupcakes. No, that wasn’t the offensive part. Here it comes…I made cupcakes…with Redbull. *Cue booing and wretching*

Guess what? They were, contrary to my predictions, delicious. I am officially a Redbull-iever. You’re probably wondering why I made cupcakes that I thought would suck. There’s a simple explanation, really. My good friend Evan, who recently got into this awesome Redbull graduate program thing, just had a birthday. All of my good friends get cakes for their birthdays. When I asked him what his preferred flavor was, he said Redbull, jokingly I assume. But I took that as a personal challenge and set out to make Redbull cupcakes. Believe it or not, recipes for such a thing already exist. There are actually people in this world who have deliberately concocted cake recipes made with Redbull. And after these, I may never make cupcakes without it again.  I decided to make them into a play on red velvet cupcakes by dying the batter red and topping it with a cream cheese frosting. I think the cream cheese was a nice complement to the sweetness of the cupcake. The Redbull does something magical to the texture of the cupcake. They turn out moist, slightly sticky, with the perfect density, and they don’t actually taste like Redbull at all. The odd flavor of Redbull only translates into a sweet slightly fruity flavor when mixed into the cupcake batter. Redbull gives you cupcakes wings!

Red(Bull) Velvet Cupcakes

3/4 C. butter, softened

1 1/2 C. sugar

3 eggs, at room temperature

1 tsp. vanilla

2 C. flour

2 1/2 tsp. baking powder

1/4 tsp. salt

1/3 C. milk

6 oz. Redbull (not sugar free)

a lot of red food coloring

Frosting:

8 oz. cream cheese, softened

1/2 C. butter, softened

2-3 C. powdered sugar

1 tsp. vanilla

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

Cream the sugar and butter. Add the eggs and vanilla, and beat again.

This is what eggs look like at room temperature, not to be mistaken with eggs that are cold.

In a separate bowl, sift together the flour, baking powder, and salt.

In a measuring cup, combine the milk and Redbull. *Warning* Redbull does something really awful looking to milk, but just have some faith and go with it.

Alternate adding the flour mixture and the Redbull mixture to the batter until everything is incorporated.

Last, add some red food dye until you like the color. I probably added just south of 1/2 oz. Be careful when you’re doing this, so that it doesn’t splash when you blend it in and look like a kitchen massacre. 

Now it’s time to fill your cupcake pan. I recommend using cupcake liners, because I didn’t and they stuck to the pan a bit. Here’s where my life changed forever. I’ve been watching a lot of Cupcake Wars on Food Network, and they always use ice cream scoops to scoop the batter into the pans. I had never done this before, until now. I tried it and could hardly contain my excitement at how efficient this method is. Perfectly measured amounts of batter in each cup, with no spillage or drips. It was incredible. I’m so happy about it, you don’t even know. Once you get over your excitement, pop them in the oven for about 18-20 minutes. You should get about 30 cupcakes out of this, btw.

Let cool completely while you whip up some frosting. Cream the butter and cream cheese with the vanilla until it’s smooth and then gradually add the powdered sugar until you reach a consistency that you like. Put the frosting into a gallon size ziploc. Snip about 1/4-1/2 inch off the tip, and pipe the frosting onto the cupcakes into cute little swirls. If you’re adverse to swirls, do what you want I guess…

Make a nice little display, and surprise your friend (optional).

I dare you to try these. You might still think I’m crazy, but I pinky promise, these really work.

Here’s a song about Redbull, by these guys that I’m kind of obsessed with a fan of.

