Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

When I looked at the food truck schedule for this week, I initially did not plan on hitting Frysmith. I generally like to be pretty healthy, or at least keep up that facade, and I just had some major qualms about eating a big plate of loaded french fries for lunch. I had heard that Frysmith is amazing, but it felt so wrong. But when Wednesday rolled around and Frysmith was on campus, I had just been destroyed by a midterm and sought some solace. I don’t usually eat my feelings, and I’m not condoning doing so, but every once in awhile, a french fry truck rolls in when you are feeling vulnerable and sweeps you away with their fried, cheesy delights.

I gave in to the temptation with some trepidation and an exciting tingle of guilt, and got in line. I was so torn between the menu items that I almost didn’t even get anything. That’s a lie, actually. I was so torn I almost got multiple things, but my wallet dictated otherwise. I ultimately chose the Chicken Sweet Potato fries: free-range chicken in a tomatillo-tamarind sauce over sweet potato fries topped with jack cheese and cashews. As I waited anxiously for my fries, I couldn’t help but notice how exceptionally friendly the staff were. Despite how busy they were, they took time to chat with customers and provide exemplary service. I really appreciate great service.

When I got my plate, I’m pretty sure my eyes dilated, trying to take in the mound of goodness in front of me. I took a seat under a tree, figured out my plan of attack, and dug in. These are definitely fries that you need to eat with a fork. Normally opposed to such behavior, which I regard with disdain like eating pizza with a fork and knife, I realized there was simply no other way. If I used my hands, it would just not be cute.

When I took my first bite, I realized that there was not one thing in this world that I would rather be eating right at that moment. Cheese, crisp sweet potato fries, and tender, flavorful chicken swept me away in a wave of culinary comfort nirvana. After a couple more bites, I also thought about how happy I was that I didn’t have to share with anyone. How sad is that? Borderline, if not full blown, pathetic. But I do not care. They were so wonderful. All of the flavors went together so beautifully. The flavors were vibrant, yet nothing was overwhelming. We’ve been over my sweet-salty-creamy-crunchy obsession, and these fries were most obliging to that. Sweet fries, salty tomatillo-tamarind sauce, creamy cheese, and crunchy cashews made for the Cirque du Soleil of lunches–beautiful, unexpected, and unforgettable…and I’ve never even seen Cirque du Soleil. If you’re not convinced yet, I throw up my hands. Just trust me and Eat Frysmith.

This is one of my very favorite songs. Enjoy : )

