Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I’ve done it, everyone. You can stop searching. I have the answer to your prayers right here. For months, I have been searching high and low, experimenting with different recipes, all resulting in dissatisfaction, and a void that can only be filled with The One. So many banana breads are too much like cake, or too dry, or too blah. Finally, I have it. The best chocolate chip banana bread recipe in the whole world. Perfectly moist, just heavy enough, bananalicious, and chocolate chippy. And I’m sharing it with you. Isn’t that nice of me? I’ve never baked anything in my apartment that has disappeared as quickly as this banana bread. It didn’t even last a day before it had been devoured, and I’m constantly getting requests to make a fresh loaf. It takes a little more time than some other banana bread recipes because it involves sifting, drizzling, mixing for extended periods of time, and folding, but it is soooooo worth the effort. Trust me. Are you ready for it? Get ready for your life to change…

Chocolate Chip Banana Bread

1 2/3 cup flour

1 tsp. baking soda

1/4 tsp. ground cinnamon

1/2 tsp. salt

1 cup plus 2 tbsp. sugar

2 eggs

1/2 cup oil

4 very ripe bananas, mashed thoroughly

2 tbsp. sour cream

1 tsp. vanilla

2/3 cup chocolate chips

Line the bottom of a loaf pan with parchment paper. It’s easiest to put the pan on the parchment, trace around the bottom, and cut it out. Grease the lined bottom and sides, and preheat the oven to 350.

Sift together the flour, baking soda, cinnamon, and salt.

In a separate bowl, beat together the sugar and eggs until light and fluffy, about 10 minutes. I recommend using a stand mixer if you have one, because I do not, and it gets tedious. I usually play Words With Friends with one hand and mix with the other.

While beating, drizzle in the oil slowly. Add the mashed bananas, sour cream, and vanilla.

*Tip about bananas: We always have an abundance of bananas, so when they are about to go bad, I peel them, put them in ziplocs, and freeze them. The morning before I’m going to make bread, I let them thaw. They end up looking super gross and let out a bunch of banana juice (which I also add to the batter), but it makes the bread taste really good.

Fold in the dry ingredients and the chocolate chips.

Pour batter into the loaf pan. It will look pretty full, but it won’t overflow when it bakes. Bake for about 1 hour. Check it after 45 minutes. If it starts looking too brown, cover the top with foil so it doesn’t burn while the middle finishes baking. Let it cool most of the way, and then flip it onto a wire rack and cool completely (or not). Cut a fat slice and soak in the warm, banana chocolate love.

There is only one song worthy enough to be in the presence of the world’s greatest chocolate chip banana bread…

