Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

*Announcement*

The food trucks are no longer coming to the UCLA campus! I’m absolutely devastated. I’m so sorry, but Food Truck Friday is now going to be much more infrequent, because I’m going to have to trek off campus to find them, and it’s hard to say when I’ll be able to pencil that in. I’m trying to figure out something interesting to fill that void with, but for now, I’ll share with you something I recently cooked up.

I may or may not have mentioned this, but I’m souper into soup. I’m also souper into cheesy puns. Souper? How lame. I love a good creamy soup, but I hate all of the fat and calories that come with that, so I try to find ways to lighten things up. I found some souper (aye, make it stop!) awesome sales on mushrooms, so I bought a couple interesting looking varieties and got to work brainstorming on what to do with them. The weather just begged for some soup, so I thought a cream of mushroom soup would be pretty wonderful. I picked up baby portobellos and enoki mushrooms. I was a little intimidated by the enokis. They looked pretty freaky and I’ve never had them before, but I figured I’d just go with it, and it worked out really well. My soup came out earthy and comforting but not too heavy. Other than the mushrooms, the ingredients for this soup are extremely basic which makes this really easy and fairly inexpensive to make. You could probably use any kind of mushrooms to make this as well, so be creative!

Portobello and Enoki Mushroom Soup

2 tbsp. oilve oil

2 tbsp. butter

1/2 brown onion, diced

2 cloves garlic, minced

8 oz. chopped baby portobello mushrooms

1 tsp. salt

3 strips cooked crumbled bacon

1/2 cup Sherry

4 cups broth, or maybe more

1/4 cup half & half

2 tbsp. balsamic vinegar

black pepper

6 oz. enoki mushrooms

basil for garnish

In a large pot over medium heat, heat the olive oil and butter. Add the onions and garlic, and cook until the onions are soft.

Add the portobello mushrooms and salt and cook until the mushrooms are slightly cooked down.

Add the bacon and Sherry, and cook off some of the Sherry. Pour in the broth (you can use chicken, beef, vegetable, whatever) and bring to a boil.

Simmer for about 20 minutes, and then add the enoki mushrooms and cook for a few more minutes. Make sure you cut off the bottom stem part of the enokis so they don’t stay in large clumps.

Add the half & half and then the vinegar and black pepper. The half & half adds just a bit of creaminess and body, but it’s not enough to add a huge amount of fat. Taste for seasoning and add salt if necessary.

Transfer half of the soup to a blender and blend until creamy, then add it back to the pot. You could also use an immersion blender right in the pot and partially blend if you’re fancy and well-stocked with kitchen appliances.

Serve with a basil garnish and another drizzle of balsamic, and enjoy a bowl!

Feast your ears : )

